A seven member Florida Real Estate Commission (FREC) functions under The Florida State Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR), Division of Real Estate. The commission is made up of five real estate licensees that have each been licensees for at least five years, and two persons that have never been licensees.
The Florida Real Estate Commission administers and enforces the real estate laws of the state that affect all aspects of a Florida real estate license.
These are some of the requirements to become a real estate agent in Florida which include being at least 18 years of age and having a high school diploma or its equivalent. Arrest and police history needs to be provided, plus fingerprints that are no older than 60 days. Upon meeting the Florida real estate education requirements, an applicant may apply for and take the states real estate exams.
The applicant for a real estate sales associate license in Florida is required to complete 63 classroom-hours covering all required Florida real estate courses. Each course is valid for a two year period. Those who have a permanent physical disability may qualify for correspondence pre-licensing if unable to attend classroom courses. The holder of a sales associate license also needs to fulfill a post-licensing education requirement.
The applicant for the sales associate license must pass the Florida real estate exam for sales associates with a grade of at least 75. After passing the exam the applicant needs to submit DBPR RE-10 to activate the license.
The applicant for a real estate broker license in Florida must already hold an active sales associate license and have actively completed at least 12 months of real estate experience during the 5 year period preceding his application. It is possible for this experience to be in a different state. The applicant for a broker license must also complete 72 classroom hours of specific Florida real estate courses. Each course is valid for two years. Those who are disabled may qualify for a correspondence pre-licensing course.
Applicants need to pass the Florida real estate exams with a grade of at least 75. After passing the exam the applicant needs to submit DBPR RE-10 in order to activate their license. Once licensed, 60 classroom hours of specific Florida real estate courses are required before the expiration of the initial broker license.
Soreide Law Group will represent you in front of the Florida Real Estate Commission regarding licensing issues. To speak to an attorney, please call: (888)760-6552 or visit our website at: ww.floridaprofessionallicense.com.